top of page
1. Membership - Victoria Falls.jpg

Membership Registration

The African Society of International law/ Société Africaine de Droit International welcomes anyone, anywhere who shares its mission and objectives to join it. Membership is currently at no financial cost. Please add your information in the form below to join.

Groupes d'intérêt | Interest groups

Thanks for submitting!

Join Us
Member Updates

Member updates

JUNE 2023

Youssef Aziz has joined AfSIL's Bureau as a Student Commissioner.

April 2023

Prof. Olabisi Akinkugbe has been elected to the Board of Editors of the American Journal of International Law

NOV 2022

15 co-chairs are in charge of AfSIL's interest groups under the leadership of John Nyanje. 

May 2022

Prof. Hajer Gueldich has been elected as the Chairperson of the African Union Commission on International Law.

MaRCH 2022

Amb. Dr. Namira Negm appointed as Director of the African Union Migration Observatory.

August 2021

AfSIL’s President Makane Moïse Mbengue has been elected as member of the Institute of International Law.

September 2020

AfSIL’s Secretary General Isabelle Rouche has joined African International Law Firm Asafo & Co. as partner in the Litigation and Arbitration practice.

We invite our members to let us know of any recent updates and accomplishments in the field of international law.

Anchor 1
Interest Groups

Interest Groups

AfSIL is forming interest groups under the lead of Nyanje John to enable members to interact regularly with colleagues along thematic lines. The groups are fora for discussion, networking, and joint activities within the various sub-fields of international law. Please contact us via the button below, if you wish to take part in one of the following interest groups or to initiate one on a new topic:

  • Human Rights & International Humanitarian Law

    • Co-chairs:​​​

  • Dispute Resolution

    • Co-chairs: ​

  • Law of the Sea

    • Co-chairs: ​

  • Environment

    • Co-chairs:

  • Trade

    • Co-chairs: ​

  • Intellectual Property & Competition

    • Co-chairs: ​

Muyiwa Adigun

Malik Boumediene

Mansha Mohee

Udoka Owie

Ahmed Abdel-Hakam

Baptiste Rigaudeau

Ben Sanderson

Ahmad Halawani

 Stephanie Naa Oserwa Schandorf

Omnia Gadalla

Mezmur Yared

Kiai Gachanja

Anne Mburu Warigia

Vanessa Halle-Fonguh

Ovo Catherine Imoedemhe

Paris Arbitration Week


Yale Climate Fellowship


A variety of applicants including Legal Advisors are invited to apply to the Climate Fellowship Program at Yale. Applications for 2023-2024 will open in mid-2023. 

Click here to learn more about the program and the application requirements.

bottom of page